Wings Player of the Decade

It’s now the final stage of the voting for the Wings Player Of The Decade. The votes for each position have been counted and verified (and multiple votes removed – cheeky!) and we can now announce our four finalists.

Each of the players below have won the Player Of The Decade for their positions – so congratulations to the below!

Sam Mott – Goalkeeper Of The Decade

Loui Fazakerley – Defender Of The Decade

Joe Healy – Midfielder Of The Decade

Ross Lafayette – Attacker Of The Decade

Vote for your choice for Wings Player Of The Decade Below – voting closes at midnight on Thursday!


Fans’ favourite Faz started out life in an attacking position for the Wings but later found a home at full back. Loui made over 200 appearances for Welling before taking charge of the side in 2015/16. It took a pretty special winger to get past him in his prime! Faz was part of the side that was narrowly denied in the 2012 playoffs final which bounced back to secure the Conference South crown in 2013.


Healy racked up three spells at PVR over the last few years but his longest stint was a six year spell from 2009. Healy was a classy footballer and often found himself in an unplayable partnership with Jack Obersteller on the Welling left. After two seasons in the Conference, Healy left PVR and did a tour of other Kent clubs before returning in 2017 and picking up the Player Of The Year under Jamie Coyle.


Rossco linked up with the Wings after training with Faz at one of his training camps. Somewhat an unknown quantity, he quickly became a fan favourite with his whole-hearted, powerful displays and plenty of goals, including a spectacular chest, turn and volley away at Chelmsford! #PING. Ross was a key man in our title season and first season in the National League before departing for Luton Town in the summer of 2014.


Sam was number 1 during the title-winning 12/13 season after joining Welling from Thamesmead ahead of the season. Sam kept plenty of clean sheets during his time at PVR and was the sole representative from the National League South in an England “C” squad of January 2013.

Voting ends at midnight on Thursday

Other Articles

Follow England at PVR
Anthony Martin is Back